Vaccinations in Thailand

Vaccinations in Thailand

If you are visiting Thailand on holiday then they will check to see if you have come through a country that has Yellow Fever. They will not allow you into Thailand if you cannot show that you have a Yellow Fever vaccination certificate. When you apply for a Thai visa you need to attach the certificate to your application.

As stated before that it is always best to obtain a tourist visa before visiting Thailand as the visa on arrival can have its own set of problems that you don’t want to deal with after a long flight at the airport in Bangkok. Note that you need to have this certificate on you when you arrive in Thailand. From the CDC website:

Yellow fever can be prevented by vaccination. Travelers should also take precautions against mosquito bites when in areas with yellow fever transmission. Travelers should get vaccinated for yellow fever before visiting areas where yellow fever is found. If you continue to live or travel in yellow fever-endemic areas, you should receive a booster dose of yellow fever vaccine after 10 years.

Note that the yellow card needs to be handed in at the airport in Thailand when you arrive. The card as listed below is an example card for Yellow Fever vaccination. This is a US example so check with your local doctor in your country about your certificate.

Vaccinations in Thailand

The following countries have been listed by the Thai government as Yellow Fever infected areas.

1. Angola : Republic of Angola
2. Benin : Republic of Benin
3. Bolivia : Republic of Bolivia
4. Brazil : Federative Republic of Brazil
5. Burkina Faso : Burkina Faso
6. Burundi : Republic of Burundi
7. Cameroon : Federal Republic of Cameroon
8. Central African Republic
9. Chad : Republic of Chad
10. Colombia : Republic of Colombia
11. Congo :
12. Congo Republic:

Democratic Republic of the Congo
Republic of the Congo

13. Cote d’ Ivore : Republic of Cote d’ Ivoire
14. Ecuador : Republic of Ecuador
15. Equatorial Guinea : Republic of Equatorial Guinea
16. Ethiopia : Federal Democratic Republic of Ethiopia
17. French-Guiana
18. Gabon : Gabonese Republic
19. Gambia : Republic of the Gambia
20. Ghana : Republic of Ghana
21. Guinea-Bissau : Republic of Guinea Bissau
22. Guinea : Republic of Guinea
23. Guyana : Cooperative Republic of Guyana
24. Kenya : Republic of Kenya
25. Liberia : Republic of Liberia
26. Mali : Republic of Mali
27. Mauritania : Islamic Republic of Mauritania
28. Niger : Republic of Niger
29. Nigeria : Federal Republic of Nigeria
30. Panama : Republic of Panama
31. Peru : Republic of Peru
32. Rwanda : Republic of Rwanda
33. Sao Tome & Principe : Democratic Republic of Sao Tome
& Principe
34. Senegal : Republic of Senegal
35. Sierra Leone : Republic of Sierra Leone
36. Somalia : Somali Democratic Republic
37. Sudan : Republic of the Sudan
38. Suriname : Republic of Suriname
39. Tanzania : United Republic of Tanzania
40. Togo :
41. Trinidad and Tobago :
Republic of Togo
Republic of Trinidad and Togago
42. Uganda : Republic of Uganda
43. Venezuela : Republic of Venezuela
44. Argentina : Argentina Republic
45. Paraguay : Republic of Paraguay